debrief
Currently Workshopping
i wish i were a skinny white girl
0:00
-19:49

i wish i were a skinny white girl

I have been endlessly comparing myself to others lately--namely, conventionally attractive, skinny white girls--but even hearing, "Comparison is the thief of joy," doesn't make me feel any better. (That's a Theodore Roosevelt quote, btw.) When in a spiral of self-loathing, there's really only one source for me to turn to: my old Feminist Legal Theory readings. What is woman? How can we think of being alive as a woman? How does one woman relate to other women? From Professor Angela P. Harris' musings on gender essentialism to Professor Kimberlé Crenshaw's unfairly maligned and oft misinterpreted intersectionality, I contemplate how these prisms for viewing legal systems can be used to view our own emotional systems. I also discuss my strange and intense friendships with other women and confront the possibility that I may never have emotionally matured from being 16 years old myself.

[timestamps]

intro - 0:00

research turned me into a jealous monster - 1:15

my early female friendships - 5:25

why feminist theory as a lens? - 9:01

gender essentialism - 10:33

intersectionality - 13:55

applying legal theory to my emotional systems - 15:50

going even deeper - 17:19

You can check out Cece's other projects at www.cecexie.com/links.

--- Send in a voice message: https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/currently-workshopping/message

0 Comments
debrief
Currently Workshopping
Join Cece as she works through the perils and frisson of being alive. Part extremely online investigation and part niche liberal arts class discussion section, Currently Workshopping is a thoughtful and analytical foray into ourselves, society, and the ties that bind all of us together (whether we like it or not).